Peasant Soup AKA Soup Aux Chox- Garbuere

May 13, 2015 004

I have been so busy that I almost forgot MTAOFC. My last post was March 2. WHY!!!!! I forgot all about this wonderful blog that I LOVE. But I had choir performances, play performance, we went to Kamloops for a baby shower, dance, piano, and on top of that I had full days of studies. So I am going to pick up the pace with this one.

Ok, Peasants Soup– yeah, that is what Julia Child calls it! If I were to give you a history lesson on the soup I would tell you one thing. Peasants grew the food so they ate the food. (Peasants had all the ingredients so they put them all into the soup.)

When I was making the soup, I found it really easy. Yes, I just called a Julia Child recipe ‘easy’. Which makes sense right? If I were a peasant, I wouldn’t want to make 3 hour soup. Really, all you do is cut vegetables, then you throw them into a pot and cook for an hour or so. BA BANG you’re done.

Soup Aux Choux- Garbure / Cabbage soup.

image

To start this soup, put 3 1/2 quarts water into a BIG POT! (Potatoes and cabbages makes the water level rise a lot). Then  wash and peel 3 to 4 cups boiling potatoes. (I don’t know exactly what  “boiling potatoes” means so I used a variety of white potatoes).

image

Then put them into pot with 1 1/2 pounds smoked bacon. I didn’t use that much because I didn’t have it on hand, but also because there are some health problems in my family. Then bring to a boil in the pot.

While water is heating up, roughly slice 2 pounds of cabbage. Once water is boiling, add eight crushed peppercorns or a big pinch of ground chili peppers, six sprigs of parsley, 1/2 tsp marjoram and thyme, 4 cloves of mashed garlic, two medium onions studded with two cloves each, and two medium carrots peeled.

Then simmer for 1 1/2 hours to 2 hours with the pot half covered.

image

While my soup was cooking, I looked at the recipe book and found three things:

  1. I am two soups away from finishing the soup chapter.
  2. I will get to cook BRAINS!!!!!!
  3. Julia Child paired this soup with French Baguette bread.

So I decided to make some. I have made this before, so Carpe Diem (seize the day).

Simply put 2 1/4 cups warm water with 1/2 an ounce of yeast and mix. Then sift five cups flour and  1 tsp salt onto a parchment and slowly mix into water. Then rise in bowl with a bit of oil for two hours (punching down regularly). Then cut and shape and put on pans, rise some more, then bake @  425 till browned to perfection.

Happy Cooking! Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

